clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Robbie Keane, Omar Gonzalez on MLS All-Star Game matchday roster

LA Galaxy stars Robbie Keane and Omar Gonzalez will be joining the MLS All-Stars in Kansas City. Landon Donovan is left off the match day roster for the first time in twelve seasons.

Drew Hallowell

Peter Vermes has made his selections for the MLS All-Star Game match day roster, and Robbie Keane will be joining fan voted Omar Gonzalez in Kansas City. The All-Star Game is scheduled for three days after the Gold Cup final, so perhaps that's why Landon Donovan was left off the match day All-Star Game roster for the first time in twelve years.

Camilo Sanvezzo, who managed a brace against the Chicago Fire last night and leads the MLS Golden Boot race with 12 goals, is the other forward named to the match day roster by Vermes. With the possibility of Wondolowski being unavailable, all four named forwards should see time on the pitch.

Fan voted Omar Gonzalez, Matt Besler, and Aurelein Collin are joined by Vermes selections Cory Ashe and Tony Beltran and one of Don Garber's selections DeAndre Yedlin.

While the fan vote was fairly down the ticket, the Vermes and Garber selections add a bit of young talent to the squad. With just the one All-Star event, the club has to balance established talent to attract eyeballs and young up and coming talent to introduce them to those who are less familiar with what the league has to offer.

The full roster is as follows:

Goalkeeper: Raul Fernández (FC Dallas), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders: Corey Ashe (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake), Aurélien Collin (Sporting Kansas City), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Patrice Bernier (Montreal Impact), Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Will Johnson (Portland Timbers), Mike Magee (Chicago Fire), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Marco Di Vaio (Montreal Impact), Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls), Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Camilo Sanvezzo (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)