clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

LA Galaxy release protected list ahead of Expansion Draft

MLS: Conference Semifinals-Colorado Rapids at Los Angeles Galaxy Kelvin Kuo-USA TODAY Sports

In the latest news coming out of the StubHub Center this morning, the Galaxy have released their list of protected players ahead of the 2016 MLS Expansion Draft.

The rules are simple: Each club is allowed to protect 11 individual players. Both Atlanta United and MNUTD make five selection apiece for a total of ten picks, and no club can lose more than a single player.

Here’s the list of protected players:

Emmanuel Boateng
Ashley Cole
AJ DeLaGarza
Clement Diop
Giovani dos Santos
Sebastian Lletget
Robbie Rogers
Brian Rowe
Daniel Steres
Jelle Van Damme
Gyasi Zardes

This leaves the following players exposed in the draft.

Miguel Aguilar
Landon Donovan
Rafael Garcia
Steven Gerrard
Alan Gordon
Baggio Husidic
Robbie Keane
Dan Kennedy
Jeff Larentowicz
Ariel Lassiter
Mike Magee
David Romney

Overall, the selections are about what you would expect. Here’s to hoping the Galaxy can manage to make it through tomorrow unscathed.