clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

LA Galaxy 2016 roster moves announced

Eight players have contracts declined

Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

During lunch the LA Galaxy announced their list of 2016 roster changes, with eight players having their options declined.

The Galaxy have decided not to exercise contract options on goalkeepers Donovan Ricketts, Brian Perk and Andrew Wolverton, defender Tommy Meyer, midfielders Mika Vayrynen and Kenney Walker, and forwards Edson Buddle and Charlie Rugg. Alan Gordon is also out of contract.

However, the following players remain under contract with the LA Galaxy: A.J. DeLaGarza, Giovani dos Santos, Rafael Garcia, Dan Gargan, Steven Gerrard, Juninho, Omar Gonzalez, Baggio Husidic, Bradford Jamieson IV, Robbie Keane, Leonardo, Sebastian Lletget, Ignacio Maganto, Raul Mendiola, Robbie Rogers, Dave Romney, Brian Rowe, Oscar Sorto, Jose Villarreal and Gyasi Zardes.

According to MLS rules, the players will now be submitted to the Re-Entry draft, where should they make it through Stage 1 without being picked up by another team, will have the opportunity to negotiate a new deal with the Galaxy.