LA Galaxy announce 2013 MLS schedule

Robert Hanashiro-USA TODAY Sports

The Galaxy will begin their second straight title defense with a three match home stand and six matches in the month of March.

MLS announced the 2013 regular season schedule this morning which features 17 matches on National TV (English and Spanish) as well as participation in the newly created Rivalry Week.

There will be a bit of a showcase the week of St. Patrick's Day, with eight of the nine match-ups featuring regional rivals going head to head. The LA Galaxy will be hosting Chivas USA on March 17th, a game broadcast on new channel UniMas which replaces Univision's Telefutura.

The Galaxy will get the second week of MLS play off, as they take on Herediano in CONCACAF Champions League play. This hopefully can prevent the overworking of the team which happened in last year's opening weeks. LA will have four days between their MLS opener (broadcast on Univision). They'll also play their first three matches at home.

The month of March will feature six Galaxy matches with their CONCACAF obligations. Any semi-final matches would take place in April, which also has four matches currently scheduled. The only month with three matches scheduled in October; May, June, and July all have five matches scheduled.

April sees the Galaxy get their first exposure on English speaking National TV, with two matches on NBC Sports Network. They'll make three appearances on EPSN2 and ESPN Deportes in May. In total the Galaxy will have six matches on the ESPN family, five on NBC Sports, and one on NBC.

The full schedule is as follows, home matches are in bold:

DAY DATE OPPONENT TIME (PT) NATIONAL TV

Sunday March 3 vs. Chicago Fire 2 p.m. Univision

Sunday March 17 vs. Chivas USA 2 p.m. UniMás

Saturday March 23 vs. Colorado Rapids 7 p.m. --

Saturday March 30 at Toronto FC TBD --

Saturday April 6 vs. Montreal Impact 7:30 p.m. --

Saturday April 13 at FC Dallas 12:30 p.m. NBC Sports Network

Saturday April 20 vs. Sporting Kansas City 7:30 p.m. NBC Sports Network

Saturday April 27 at RealSaltLake 6 p.m. --

Sunday May 5 vs. Houston Dynamo 8 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes

Saturday May 11 at Vancouver Whitecaps FC TBD --

Wednesday May 15 at Philadelphia Union 4:30 p.m. --

Sunday May 19 at New York Red Bulls 10 a.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes

Sunday May 26 vs. Seattle Sounders FC 8 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes

Sunday June 2 at New England Revolution 1 p.m. NBC Sports Network

Saturday June 8 at RealSaltLake 6:30 p.m. --

Wednesday June 19 vs. Portland Timbers 7:30 p.m. --

Sunday June 23 at Chivas USA 8 p.m. UniMás

Saturday June 29 at San Jose Earthquakes 7:30 p.m. --

Thursday July 4 vs. Columbus Crew 8 p.m. --

Sunday July 7 vs. FC Dallas 7:30 p.m. --

Saturday July 13 at Portland Timbers 8 p.m. NBC Sports Network

Saturday July 20 vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC 7:30 p.m. --

Saturday July 27 at Colorado Rapids 6 p.m. --

Sunday August 11 at FC Dallas 5 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes

Saturday August 17 vs. RealSaltLake 7:30 p.m. --

Saturday August 24 at Vancouver Whitecaps FC TBD --

Saturday August 31 vs. San Jose Earthquakes 7:30 p.m. --

Saturday September 7 vs. Colorado Rapids 7:30 p.m. --

Sunday September 15 at D.C. United 2 p.m. UniMás

Saturday September 21 vs. Seattle Sounders FC 7:30 p.m. NBC Sports Network

Sunday September 29 at Portland Timbers 12:30 p.m. NBC

Sunday October 6 vs. Chivas USA 2 p.m. UniMás

Sunday October 20 vs. San Jose Earthquakes 6 p.m. ESPN/ESPN Deportes

Sunday October 27 at Seattle Sounders FC 6 p.m. ESPN/ESPN Deportes

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join LAG Confidential

You must be a member of LAG Confidential to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at LAG Confidential. You should read them.

Join LAG Confidential

You must be a member of LAG Confidential to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at LAG Confidential. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker