LA Galaxy and MLS Unveil Complete 2012 Regular Season Schedule

CARSON, CA - NOVEMBER 20: Omar Gonzalez #4 of the Los Angeles Galaxy celebrates with a drink from the Philip Anschutz Trophy in the locker room after the 2011 MLS Cup against the Houston Dynamo at The Home Depot Center on November 20, 2011 in Carson, California. The Galaxy defeated the Dynamo 1-0 to win the MLS Cup. (Photo by Stephen Dunn/Getty Images)

MLS released it's 2012 schedule today, so it's time to break it down in terms of what it means for the LA Galaxy. The club will play 34 games, 17 at home and 17 on the road, starting with the home opener against Real Salt Lake on March 10th. The schedule is a long one, going from March 10th to Dec 1st, and the Galaxy also have CONCACAF Champions League in the beginning of the season. One good feature of this schedule is MLS appears to be avoiding FIFA dates, although the Galaxy could still lose players to the Olympic tournament.

Of the 34 games the Galaxy will play this season, 15 will be broadcast nationally in English by one of MLS's national broadcast partners. ESPN is scheduled to air eight Galaxy games this season, airing two of the now three three legged series against Chivas USA (May 19 and August 12), as well as games against Sporting Kansas City (April 7), New York Red Bulls (May 5), San Jose Earthquakes (June 30), Chicago Fire (July 8) and two games against West Coast rival Seattle Sounders FC (August 5 and October 28).

NBC Sports will broadcast their first-ever Galaxy game on March 31 when the club hosts the New England Revolution to close out their season-opening three-game homestand. The network will also broadcast two of the club’s three meetings with FC Dallas (July 28 and August 26), as well as games against the Houston Dynamo (May 26) the Portland Timbers (July 14), Columbus Crew (August 15) and Colorado Rapids (September 30).

The full breakdown after the break:

Breaking Down the LA Galaxy 2012 Schedule

Home Dates by Day of the Week:

Wednesday – 2 Saturday – 10 Sunday - 5

Road Dates by Day of the Week:

Wednesday – 4 Saturday – 8 Sunday - 5

Home Dates by Month:

March - 3 April - 2 May - 2 June - 2 July - 2 August - 1 September - 3 October - 2

Road Dates by Month:

March - 0 April - 2 May - 4 June - 2 July - 4 August - 3 September - 1 October - 1

Number of Games by Conference:

VS. WESTERN CONFERENCE (24 GAMES)

Galaxy at Home Galaxy Away
Chivas USA July 21 May 19, August 12
Colorado Rapids September 16 April 21, September 30
FC Dallas April 28, August 26 July 28
Portland Timbers April 14, June 17 July 14
Real Salt Lake March 10, October 6 June 20
San Jose Earthquakes May 23 June 30, October 21
Seattle Sounders FC October 28 May 2, August 5
Vancouver Whitecaps FC June 23, September 1 July 18

VS. EASTERN CONFERENCE (10 GAMES)

Galaxy at Home Galaxy Away
Chicago Fire -- July 8
Columbus Crew -- August 15
D.C. United March 18 --
Houston Dynamo -- May 26
Montreal Impact -- May 12
New England Revolution March 31 --
New York Red Bulls May 5 --
Philadelphia Union July 4 --
Sporting Kansas City -- April 7
Toronto FC September 22 --

The Galaxy's longest homestand is four games, From August 26-September 22. The longest road trip is also four games, Four Games – From July 28-August 15. Of the Galaxy's 15 games broadcast nationally in English, eight are at home and twelve are on the road. This means plenty of chances for Galaxy fans to check out these shinny national broadcasts.

Complete LA Galaxy 2012 Regular Season Schedule

DAY DATE OPPONENT TIME (PT) TV

Saturday March 10 vs. Real Salt Lake 7:30 p.m.

Sunday March 18 vs. D.C. United 4 p.m. Galavision

Saturday March 31 vs. New England Revolution 8 p.m. NBC Sports Network

Saturday April 7 at Sporting Kansas City 2 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes

Saturday April 14 vs. Portland Timbers 7:30 p.m.

Saturday April 21 at Colorado Rapids 6 p.m.

Saturday April 28 vs. FC Dallas 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday May 2 at Seattle Sounders FC 7 p.m.

Saturday May 5 vs. New York Red Bulls 5 p.m. ESPN/ESPN Deportes

Saturday May 12 at Montreal Impact 1 p.m.

Saturday May 19 at Chivas USA 7:30 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes

Wednesday May 23 vs. San Jose Earthquakes 7:30 p.m.

Saturday May 26 at Houston Dynamo 11:30 a.m. NBC Sports Network

Sunday June 17 vs. Portland Timbers 4 p.m.

Wednesday June 20 at Real Salt Lake 6 p.m.

Saturday June 23 vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC 7:30 p.m.

Saturday June 30 at San Jose Earthquakes 7 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes

Wednesday July 4 vs. Philadelphia Union 7:30 p.m.

Sunday July 8 at Chicago Fire 12 p.m. ESPN/ESPN Deportes

Saturday July 14 at Portland Timbers 8 p.m. NBC Sports Network

Wednesday July 18 at Vancouver Whitecaps FC 7 p.m.

Saturday July 21 vs. Chivas USA 7 p.m. Galavision

Saturday July 28 at FC Dallas 5 p.m. NBC Sports Network

Sunday August 5 at Seattle Sounders FC 7 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes

Sunday August 12 at Chivas USA 8 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes

Wednesday August 15 at Columbus Crew 5 p.m. NBC Sports Network

Sunday August 26 vs. FC Dallas 4 p.m. NBC Sports Network

Saturday September 1 vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC 7 p.m.

Sunday September 16 vs. Colorado Rapids 4 p.m. Galavision

Saturday September 22 vs. Toronto FC 7:30 p.m.

Sunday September 30 at Colorado Rapids 4 p.m. Galavision

Saturday October 6 vs. Real Salt Lake 6 p.m. NBC Sports Network

Sunday October 21 at San Jose Earthquakes 4 p.m. Galavision

Sunday October 28 vs. Seattle Sounders FC 6 p.m. ESPN/ESPN Deportes


X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join LAG Confidential

You must be a member of LAG Confidential to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at LAG Confidential. You should read them.

Join LAG Confidential

You must be a member of LAG Confidential to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at LAG Confidential. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker